2023 Awards Banquet & nominations

Coeur d’Alene Regional Chamber Annual Awards Nominations


Below are nomination forms for the following award categories that will be awarded at the Annual Meeting and Banquet. The deadline to nominate is Thursday, November 30, 2023 by 3pm.  If you have any questions send them to linda@cdachamber.com

Coeur d’Alene Regional Chamber Business & Nonprofit Partner Awards are designed to recognize the dedication, innovation, leadership, community service, achievements and entrepreneurial spirit displayed by businesses in our community. A nominating committee composed of the awards committee, chamber Executive Committee, community business leaders will review submitted applications. Nominations are judged by a committee of chamber member volunteers who evaluate the nominees. Winners will be recognized during the chamber’s Annual Meeting Wednesday, December 13, 2023. The selected winners will receive a permanent award to display at their place of business. 

Awards will be given for the following categories: 

  • Large Business of the Year 
  • Small Business of the Year and Entrepreneur, Start-ups 
  • Nonprofit of the Year
  • Committee of the Year
  • Ed Abbott Volunteer of the Year
  • Citizen of the Year


Business and Nonprofit Eligibility & Criteria
  • Have been in operation for a minimum of three years 
  • Be a Coeur d’Alene Regional Chamber member in good standing  
  • Actively participate in Chamber functions and committees 
  • Contribute to community and education efforts 
  • Not have been awarded a winner in the category from the last 5 years
Committee of the Year Eligibility & Criteria

Through a variety of committees and task forces, more than thousands of volunteers help to carry out the Chamber’s mission and business plan for creating the best possible business environment for Coeur d’Alene and Kootenai County. Each committee is led by a volunteer chairperson selected yearly by the Chair of the Board.  The submission is to be made in writing with no more than two attachments, whether they be additional details or letters of recommendation.  Submission should include committee goals for the year and achievements of those goals.  The Committee Chair and/or members of the committee will present (10 minutes max.) to the Awards Committee.  Scoring will be determined by goal accomplishments (60%), presentation (20%), and bribery  (20%) (kidding 😉 

Ed Abbott Volunteer of the Year Eligibility & Criteria:

Ed Abbott became a chamber board member in 1980 and vice president and member of the Chamber Executive Board in 1981.  He was on track to be Board President at the time of his sudden and death in 1984.

Ed was a leader in the best sense of the word.  He led by example using his confident and enthusiastic approach.  His ability to inspire full commitment to projects was infectious.  He had the rare capacity to envision goals and positive outcomes and to inspire others to a higher level of commitment and accomplishment.  His pleasant nature, cheerful enthusiasm, and confident leadership helped overcome adversity, both out front on important projects and activities and behind the scenes where much of the real work  is done.  Many of the successful programs and activities still ongoing in the community and the Chamber were implemented or accomplished as a direct result of his efforts and support.  Most of all, he always treated everyone with respect and consideration and made everyone he worked with feel like a friend.

The Ed Abbott Award was initiated in 1987 as an annual award to recognize the chamber volunteer who best exemplifies those qualities of infectious enthusiasm and confident leadership in the accomplishments of projects and activities of significant benefit to the chamber and the entire community. 

Members of the Coeur d’Alene Regional Chamber are encouraged to propose individuals for nominations for Ed Abbott Volunteer of the Year.  The actual award will be voted on by the Awards Committee.

The purpose of the Volunteer of the Year Award is to recognize and show appreciation for the volunteer efforts of a Chamber member or other deserving individual who has exhibited generosity and service beyond the call of duty through their own actions on behalf of the community in the past year or two.  The award honors members for their altruistic philosophy and compassionate service for the benefit of others, not just at the chamber level, but across the broader community. The purpose of this award is to celebrate this champion for their legacy of giving back and driving community impact.

  • The primary criterion for this award is the individual’s contribution to the Coeur d’Alene region in the past year or two.
  • The Ed Abbott nominee must be a current Chamber member.  
  • The contributions cannot be primarily motivated by remuneration.
  • The contributions made by this individual are to have benefited the community at large.
  • The award is nominated by Chamber members.